The Cricket Paper National Schools Under-17 Cup 2022

The History and Evolution of the U17 National Schools Cricket Cup

In 2010 The School Sports Magazine ran the first ever National Schools U17 Cup. The cup, under the firm leadership of Phil Tulser and excellent administration of Julie Penrose provided schools across the country with an exciting and challenging competition from 2010 to 2017. It complimented well, the shorter and more explosive HMC National T20.

Whilst annually some 40+ schools enjoyed the 40 overs School Sports Magazine cup a number of schools have struggled to compete in both because of over stretched resources and increasing demands from other quarters.  After the 2017 final School Sports Magazine dropped the competition.

In 2017-18 the gradual conversion back to linear A levels helped Masters IC of Cricket access more players in the Lower 6th and so ‘The Cricket Paper National Schools U17 Cup’, which is played over 35 overs with white balls and coloured clothing (where possible), was born. We firmly believe it offers an excellent opportunity to our schoolboy cricketers to test their skills, to a high, level against unfamiliar opponents across the length and breadth of the country.

In 2020 the Covid pandemic obviously caused the cancellation of the competition but in 2021 Eton College won a fantastically close final beating the previous holders Bromsgrove School at Loughborough University/

U17 BOYS – DRAW 2022 UPDATE 22-4-22

Previous Winners & Runners Up (The School Sports Magazine National U17 Cup 2010-2017/ The Cricket Paper National Schools U17 Cup 2018- present)

2010 Bedford School beat Myerscough College, Preston

2011 Filton College, Bristol beat Huddersfield New College

2012 Gillingham School beat Shrewsbury School

2013 Shrewsbury School & Portsmouth Grammar School Shared

2014 Bedford School beat Bradfield College

2015 Portsmouth Grammar School beat Sedbergh School

2016 Millfield School beat Shrewsbury School

2017 Merchant Taylor’s School, Northwood beat Shrewsbury School

2018 Millfield School beat Bedford School

2019 Bromsgrove School beat Bede’s School Hailsham

2020 COVID PANDEMIC – the competition did not take place

2021 Eton College beat Bromsgrove School

Schools Cricket Online